13 candidates in fray for Mawryngkneng, Mawphlang and Rajabala by-polls

Shillong, Oct 13: Thirteen candidates are in fray for the bye-elections to the three assembly constituencies in Meghalaya.

The three constituencies which will go for the by-polls are – Mawryngkneng, Mawphlang both in East Khasi Hills district and Rajabala in West Garo Hills district.

Voting is on October 30 and the results will be declared on November 2.

Mawryngkneng constituency has five candidates – Highlander Kharmalki of the Congress, Pyniaid Sing Syiem of the National People’s Party (NPP), Arbiangkam Kharsohmat, Esron Marwein and Norbert Marboh all Independents.

Marwein had filed his nomination papers as a Khun Hynniewtrep National Awakening Movement candidate but was compelled to contest as an Independent candidate after, party president Adelbert Nongrum filed a petition in the Delhi High Court against the Election Commission of India which had issued a letter to the Chief Electoral Officer Meghalaya on October 9 advising it not to accept the Form A and Form B etc. from anyone in KHNAM for the by-elections.

The Delhi High Court, which heard the case on Tuesday, directed both factions – one led by MLA, Adelbert Nongrum and the other led by Pyndapborthiaw Saibon – to appear before the returning officer and it also granted liberty to the petitioner’s candidate (Marwein) to appear before the returning officer to make his submissions on the objections raised during scrutiny of Form A and B.

The Court also directed the returning officer to decide such submissions by passing a reasoned order in accordance with the law.

In Mawphlang there are three candidates, footballer Eugeneson Lyngdoh of the United Democratic Party (UDP), former MLA Kennedy Khyriem of the Congress and KHADC, MDC, Lamphrang Blah from the NPP.

Meanwhile, in Rajabala constituency there are five candidates – Ashahel D. Shira (UDP), Kingstone B. Marak (BJP), Carla R. Sangma (Independent), Hashina Yasmin Mondal (Congress) bad Abdus Saleh (NPP).

The by-polls were necessitated after David Nongrum (Mawryngkneng), Dr. Azad Zaman (Rajabala) both of the Congress and S. K. Sunn (Mawphlang) Independent MLA who was an associate member of the UDP passed away.

Hits: 54