UDP’s Synshar wins Sohiong seat by a margin of 3422 votes

UDP's Synshar wins Sohiong seat by a margin of 3422 votes

SHILLONG, MAY 13: Synshar Kupar Roy Lyngdoh Thabah of the United Democratic Party (UDP) won the adjourned Sohiong Assembly election by defeating his closest rival Samlin Malngiang of the National People’s Party (NPP) by a comfortable margin of 3,422 votes.

Today’s victory has increased the strength of the UDP to 12 in the 60-member House, making it the second largest political party after the NPP with 28 MLAs.

The election in Sohiong was adjourned following the death of Synshar’s uncle and former home minister (L) HDR Lyngdoh of the UDP on February 20.

Synshar secured 16, 679 votes while Samlin with 13,257 votes.

In third place stood S Osborne Kharjana of the Indian National Congress (INC) who could only manage to secure 1,762 votes despite Sohiong used to be a Congress bastion.

NOTA took the 4th slot with 272 voters expressing their desire clearly.

Three candidates belonging to the All India Trinamool Congress, Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP) and Bharatiya Janata Party forfeited their security deposits.

Stodingstar Thabah of AITC secured only 89 votes while Sandondor Ryntathiang of HSPDP with 62 votes and Seraph Eric Kharbuki of the BJP with 40 votes.

Hits: 4