Meghalaya government regional committees in six areas of differences between Meghalaya and Assam

Shillong, Sep 26: The Meghalaya government on Monday informed that it has constituted three Regional Committees to examine the present status of the remaining six ‘areas of differences’ between Meghalaya and Assam.

In Langpih, West Khasi Hills District; Borduar, Nongwah-Mawtamur, Deshdoomreah, Block-ll in Ri-Bhoi District; Block-l, Psiar-Khanduli in West Jaintia Hills District, Prestone Tynsong, Deputy Chief Minister will be the chairperson, cabinet minister Dasakhiatbha Lamare, Nongpoh legislator Mayralborn Syiem, Jambor War, Executive Member, KHADC (Elaka), Rangkynsai Kharbuki, KHADC MDC from Umroi will be the members while Deputy Commissioner, Ri-Bhoi District will be the Member Convenor.

For West Khasi Hills, West Jaintia Hills, cabinet minister Renikton L.Tongkhar, will be the Chairperson, Macmillan Byrsat, MLA, Nongstoin, Kimfa S. Marbaniang, MLA, Rambrai – Jyngam, Gigur Myrthong, Deputy CEM, KHADC, Bajop Pyngrope, MDC, Rambrai -Jyrngam, will be the members and Deputy Commissioner, West Khasi Hills District will be the Member Convenor,

For West Jaintia Hills, cabinet minister Sniawbhalang Dhar, will be the Chairperson, Lahkmen Rymbui, cabinet minister in-charge Home, Comingone Ymbon, MLA, Raliang Constituency, Nujorki Sungoh, MLA, Mowkaiaw, Thombor Shiwat, CEM, JHADC will be the members while Deputy Commissioner, West Jaintia Hills District will be the Member Convenor

The Terms of Reference, is to coordinate with the relevant Regional Committee set up by Government of Assam, to cross-reference and verify the names of the villages (sub-villages) claimed by Meghalaya with the names of villages as per records of Government of Assam.

To establish the geographical location of the villages and their contiguity. To examine the status of the population of villages as per census records including ethnicity.

To prepare an ‘As-ls’ Public Asset Register in the villages, created by both the State Governments, to visit each of the villages, and interact with the communities living in the villages including the elected representatives of the Autonomous District Councils and other stakeholders to learn about the perception of the people living in the area.

To document the factual information regarding the physical & time-wise distances from the villages to the nearest public service delivery poinU administrative unit.

The reports by the respective committees will be submitted to the government of Meghalaya within a period of 45 days from the date of this notification based on the inspection of the villages and based on the agreed yardsticks of historical perspective, ethnicity of the local population, administrative convenience of local people, contiguity with the boundary and the perception of the people living in the area.

Hits: 52