Six candidates join fray for Shella bypoll, four nominees submit papers on final day

Shillong Sept 30: The bye election to Shella constituency will witness six candidates fighting the battle ballot on October 21.

Four candidates filed their nominations on Monday, the last day for filing of nomination papers while two candidates submitted their papers last week.

The four candidates who submitted their papers on Monday include Independent candidate, Grace Mary Kharpuri, Congress candidate Batyngshaiñ Ryngnga, People’s Democratic Front (PDF) Mosjo Wanswet and BJP candidate, Joshua Warjri.

The bye election to Shella constituency on October 21, is necessitated following the demise of former Meghalaya Assembly Speaker, Donkupar Roy on July 28.

Counting of votes will take place on October 24.

Donkupar who was the president of the United Democratic Party (UDP) had represented Shella since 1988 for seven consecutive terms.

The UDP has fielded Donkupar Roy’s son, Balajied Synrem as its candidate who filed his nomination papers last week along with Independent candidate, Komen Laitmon.

Scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on Tuesday and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is October 3.

Hits: 2