Meghalaya celebrates 71st Republic Day with Zeal and enthusiasm

Shillong, Jan. 26, 2020: Along with the rest of the country the 71st Republic Day was celebrated in Meghalaya. In the State capital, Shillong, Chief Minister of Meghalaya, Conrad K. Sangma unfurled the National Flag and took the Rashtriya Salute of 10 Marching Contingents comprising of 58th GTC, Border Security Force, Central Reserve Police Force, Manipur Police, Meghalaya Police DEF, 1st MLP Bn., Meghalaya Police Football Team, NCC (Boys and Girls), Meghalaya Bharat Scouts & Guides and combined Brass Band of Border Wing Home Guards, Border Security Force and ARC pipe band at Polo Ground, Shillong.

During the celebration, the Chief Minister also handed over the U Tirot Sing Award for Art & Literature to Shri Pradip Kurbah and Shri Dominic Megam Sangma, Pa Togan N. Sangma Award for Social Services to Bro. Jose Joseph Kolangauil and U Kiang Nangbah Award for Sports to Shri Tlanding Wahlang.

The Chief Minister also distributed the Kayakalp Award for the public health facilities that maintain a high degree of cleanliness, hygiene and infection control practices in line with the Swachh Bharat Abhiyan to two District Hospitals namely Williamnagar Civil Hospital and Ampati Civil Hospital, two Community Health Centres of East Khasi Hills namely Mawphlang and Sohiong and three Primary Health Centres of East Khasi Hills District namely Laitryngew, Laitlyngkot and Mawsahew PHC.

On the occasion of the Republic Day, the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service, Police Medal for Meritorious, Fire Service Medal for Meritorious Service and Governor’s Police Medal were also announced.

President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service to Shri Ricky Dkhar, Deputy Inspector General of Police, SB/Security Special Branch.

Police Medal for Meritorious Service to Shri Balchand Mishra, UBSI and Shri Lambok Shadap, UB Constable.

Fire Service Medal for Meritorious Service to Leading Fireman Aljwin Rani and Leading Fireman Anith Marak.

Governor’s Police Medal to Shri Geffry W. Lyngdoh, Dy, SP, Smti Queenie A. B. Fancon, Asstt. Commandant SF-10, Shri L. A. Dkhar, UB Inspector, Shri B. V. Khongwir, AB Inspector, Shri Comingstar Sten, AB Inspector, Shri Lekh Bahadur Chettri, Havildar, Shri Sulaman Ch. Sangma, Havildar, Shri Benjamin L. Hmar, UB Constable and Shri Amarjeet Kr. Rai, AB Constable.

The other highlights of the celebration included song, dance and tableau presentation by Departments of Information and Public Relations, Social Welfare, Animal Husbandry and Veterinary, Public Health Engineering, Soil and Water Conservation, Agriculture, Horticulture, Forest and Environment, Fisheries, District Task Force, East Khasi Hills and Office of the Chief Electoral Officer.

As part of the celebration, various events were organised in the city which includes fishing competition, entertainment for children and food courts, free entry at Ward’s Lake, Lady Hydari Park, free cinema shows, display and rally of vintage cars, talent show and performance by Meghalaya Talent Search Organisation (MTSO), stall from North East Network (NEN) and distribution of food packets by NGOs.