State cabinet approves sanctioned posts for nine community colleges

Jowai Feb 4: Deputy chief minister, Prestone Tynsong informed that the cabinet has approved the proposal for sanctioning of posts for nine community colleges in the state.

The colleges include Nongstoiñ college, Ri-Bhoi college, Shangpung college, Tirot Sing memorial college, Jaiñtia Eastern college, Tura Christian college, Chokpot college, Ampati college and Nongtalang college.

Education minister, Lahkmen Rymbui Rymbui thanked chief minister Conrad K Sangma who despite financial constraints, worked hard to support these community colleges.

“The state government would provide an additional sanction of Rs 16.12 crore, and all the posts would be as per the state’s scale of pay, not as per the UGC scale,” Rymbui said.

Tynsong informed that the state cabinet has also approved the proposal of the state transport department to have cab aggregators and used bike taxis to solve traffic congestion be it in Shillong, Tura, and Jowai.

A drafted MOU to be signed between the state tourism department and Airbnb to improve home stays and other activities that attract tourists.

A draft Meghalaya real estate regulation and development rules based on the Central act passed in 2016 was also approved by the state cabinet.

The rules is about establishment of real estate authority and real appellate tribunal.