HSPDP MLAs will not vote in Presidential election

Shillong, July 6: The Hill State People Democratic Party (HSPDP) has decided to neither vote for the NDA presidential candidate, Ram Nath Govind nor Congress nominee, Meira Kumar.
The HSPDP which has four MLAs in the 60-member Assembly, took this decision to abstain from voting at its Central Executive Committee held here on Thursday.
We would not vote for Kovind because of his anti-minority stand where he described Islam and Christianity as alien to the nation and for opposing reservation in government jobs for religious minorities in India. How can we allow a person with such mindset occupy the post of President”, HSPDP president, Ardent Miller Basaiawmoit said.
Similarly, the HSPDP chief said that his party would not vote for the Congress presidential nominee since the Congress has failed to govern the country for several decades.

Hits: 58


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *