Presidential poll: Ballot box from Meghalaya reaches New Delhi

Shillong, July 18: A ballot box containing votes cast by 52 MLAs in Meghalaya was taken to New Delhi on Tuesday.

Meghalaya Chief Electoral Officer, F.R. Kharkongor said that the ballot box was taken to New Delhi by the Election Commissionís observer for Meghalaya, S.K. Mittal.

On Monday, 52 out of 60 legislators in Meghalaya voted in the presidential election to decide the fate of NDA presidential nominee, Ram Nath Kovind and UPA candidate, Meira Kumar.

The overall polling percentage was 86.6 as eight out 60 MLAs voted.

Counting of votes will be held in New Delhi on Thursday.

Four legislators of the opposition Hill State Peopleís Democratic Party (HSPDP) Ė Ardent Miller Basaiwmoit, K.P. Pangniang, Witting Mawsor and D. Jyndiang did not vote as a mark of protest against the candidature of both Kovind and Kumar.

Inpdependent MLA from mawhati, Julius Dorphang, who is accused of raping a minor did not vote.

Congress legislator, Martin M. Danggo who is also the PWD (Roads) minister, could not come for voting as he is out of station for treatment.

One Independent, Justine Dkhar who also supports the Congress-led government failed to turn up to the polling booth, besides Opposition UDP MLA, H. Brolding Nongsiej.

Hits: 84


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *