All candidates take pathetic roads as main issue for Shella bypoll

Shillong Oct 8: All candidates who are contesting the bye elections to Shella constituency are raising the issue of pathetic condition of roads and lack of development in the constituency and promised to take initiatives to bring development as they seek support of the electorates.

The bye election will be held on October 21 to elect a new representative after the Shella seat fell vacant following the demise of sitting legislator, Dr Donkupar Roy on July 28.

Six candidates are in the fray for the bye election.

Except the United Democratic Party (UDP) and its candidate, Balajied Synrem who highlighted various initiatives of late Dr Roy for the overall development of Shella constituency during the campaign, the other candidates pointed out what they described as “total lack of development” in the constituency in the past many years, especially road communication.

The UDP assured that it would continue the good work and initiatives left by late Dr Donkupar and sought the support of the people of Shella to vote for the candidate of the party in order to fulfill and complete the unfinished tasks.

The other candidates in the fray include, Grace Mary Kharpuri, the lone woman candidate who is contesting as an Independent, Congress candidate Batyngshaiñ Ryngnga, People’s Democratic Party (PDF) candidate, Mosjo Wanswet, Independent nominee, Komen Laitmon and BJP candidate, Joshua Warjri.

All these candidates did not fail to highlight the deplorable condition of roads in the constituency while campaigning, though they did not criticize the late leader much. All of them assured the electorates that if elected, their priority would be to improve the road condition besides taking various initiatives for the overall development of the constituency.

Shella constituency was represented by late Dr Donkupar Roy since 1988 without any gap for the seven consecutive terms.

Late Dr Donkupar passed away while in office as the Speaker of the 10th Meghalaya Assembly.

He had also served as Chief Minister of the state for one year from March 19, 2008 to March 19, 2009.