Observers to arrive in Meghalaya four days before counting of votes

Shillong Apr 20: Observers of the Election Commission will arrive in the state four days before the counting of votes for the elections to the two Lok Sabha constituencies and a bye election to one Assembly constituency.

The two Lok Sabha constituencies – Shillong and Tura – went to polls along with the bye election to Selsella Assembly constituency on April 11.

Counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Sources said that the observers will stay in the state till all the election processes are over.

There will be 13 counting centres and adequate security personnel would be deployed o the counting day. CCTVs would be also installed in all the counting centres.

Votes will be counted at Shillong, Sohra, Jowai, Khliehriat, Nongpoh, Mawkyrwat, Nongstoiñ, and Mairang for the Shillong Lok Sabha constituency and for the Tura Lok Sabha constituency, counting of votes will take place at Tura, Williamnagar, Baghmara, Resubelpara, and Ampati.

The biggest among the counting centres is Shillong as votes polled in 15 Assembly segments under East Khasi Hills district would be counted at three halls of Indoor Sports Hall and Dalang Stage.

The strong rooms are being security personnel till the counting day and deployment of security personnel would be further beefed up on that day.

The Tura Lok Sabha constituency witnessed a high turnout of 81.30 per cent in the Lok Sabha polls and 65.49 per cent in Shillong Lok Sabha seat.

However voting in the bye election to Selsella Assembly constituency was 92.20 percent.

The state recorded an overall turnout of 71.41 per cent this year.

Six candidates who include sitting Lok Sabha MP, Vincent H. Pala of the Congress, Sanbor Shullai of the BJP, Jemino Mawthoh of the UDP and three Independents – T.H.S. Bonney, Romeo Phira Ranee and Samuel Hashah from Shillong constituency are in the fray.

From Tura Lok Sabha constituency, former Chief Minister, Mukul Sangma of the Congress, former Union Minister, Agatha K. Sangma of the ruling NPP, and Rikman G. Momin of the BJP are in the fray.

From Selsella Assembly constituency, four candidates are in the fray – Ferlin CA Sangma of the NPP, June Eliana R. Marak of the Congress and the widow of Selsella MLA, Clement Marak, Sayeedullah Nongrum of the United Democratic Party and Adorsho Sangma of the BJP.

The bye election to Selsella Assembly seat was necessitated following the death of the sitting MLA (Clement Marak) on October 8 last year.